Project 2 Event Ad

A5AnthonDavenport

Description: Event Ad Project

This is a poster made in Microsoft word. The objective was to create an event ad based around a scanned image. The event could be for any benefactor and could be fictional. The event needed to be local. I created an ad for a fictional company called RestoreMe. The company is holding a concert to raise money to help them restore Idaho’s historic architectural landmarks.

Process: (program/ tools/ skills)

I designed this on a PC. The only program I used to create the entire design was Microsoft word. To sample colors I borrowed the sample swatch numbers i.e. R: 170 G: 220 B: 230 from the picture opened in Photoshop (I only used Photoshop to reference color, not to design. The numbers from Photoshop were entered manually into Microsoft word’s custom color options.) I made a grid of thirds so I could start to layout the design. I used alignment from the image to orient most of the content.  (Rough Draft Left)(Final Draft Center)(Scanned Image Right)

A5AnthonDavenportDraft A5AnthonDavenport A4AnthonDavenport

Message:

The message is from the fictional company RestoreMe. The event is a benefit concert to aid this company by donating funds to help them with historical architectural landmark restoration. The event will be $15 a person and will be held Friday, October 24th, at 7:00 p.m. at the Rexburg Tabernacle. The band playing will be the fictional knock off group called the Electric Piano Guys. The tickets will be sold online or at the tabernacle. I included a date time place and price. I also named a benefactor and the event. The body copy gives additional information about where the money will be going.

Audience:

The audience I was aiming for were mostly college students and the general local public. I wanted the poster to appeal to all ages.

Top things learned:

I never knew there were so many nifty things in Microsoft Word. That was a very fun program to design in once I found out where all the tools were located. I learned a great deal about the program as well as typography. I also did some independent study on typography and found some very useful advice about line spacing, kerning, tracking, and emphasis. The biggest challenge for me on this assignment was aligning everything and making it easy to read. My rough draft had too many weird focal point issues. I applied my new knowledge of typography to the final design and its alignment.

Colors scheme and color names:

The color scheme is sort of a split complimentary, blue, green, and orange.

The swatches I used were all custom and were direct from the scanned image. Here are the colors:

Light blue: R – 172 G -220 B – 230

Orange: R – 223 G -137 B – 78

Green: R – 105 G -135 B – 102

Title Copy Font: Space BD BT (Decorative Sans Serif)

Body Copy Font: Palatino Linotype (Old Style Serif)

Scanned image on post source:

Image cited in APA format.

Barlow, Nic (N.D.) The Mosque, Schwetzingen, Germany, [photograph], 6.75 x 8.94 In. From Architecture A Visual History (pg. 205) by James Neal, 1999, PRC Publishing Limited

Original Width and Height from scanner: 6.75 “ x 8.94”

Scanner Type/ Model: HpDeskjet F4480

Location: Anthon Davenport’s Private Home Office

Embedded video:

2 comments

  1. thirstykitty · October 13, 2014

    I really like your colors. They go well with the photo. I also like the layout. The white vertical lines guide the viewer’s eyes down to see the other information. The photo creates a great focal point.

    Like

  2. webprev · October 14, 2014

    Great job Anton I am really impressed with how well you worked your design elements throughout your ad. I like how you incorporated the colors from the photo that you scanned. You defenately have a great eye for design. Keep up the great work. In case you are interested here is my ad: http://www.forgearchery.com/p2-ad-project/

    Like

Leave a comment